skip to main content
article photo


SONIC President Claudia San Pedro Named 2022 Restaurant Leader of the Year

Reporters are welcome to use Inspire Stories material. If you have any questions, please contact us at

Claudia San Pedro, Head of the Limited Service Category and President for SONIC, has been awarded the restaurant industry’s highest honor – Restaurant Leader of the Year.

Each year, editors at Restaurant Business receive several highly-qualified nominees from across the restaurant industry. The winner is selected based on key indicators like financial performance, sustained growth, corporate culture, and innovation.

Claudia San Pedro

Since being named President of SONIC in January 2018, Claudia has been highly regarded for her business acumen and leadership style, attributing to the brand’s incredible growth and innovation in recent years.

This year’s nominees included Lisa Ingram, CEO of White Castle; David Overton, CEO of Cheesecake Factory; Wyman Roberts, CEO of Brinker International; and Peter Cancro, CEO of Jersey Mike’s.

Inspire Chief Executive Officer Paul Brown won Restaurant Leader of the Year in 2017. Other previous winners include:

  • Ron Shaich, CEO, Panera – 2018
  • Greg Creed, CEO, Yum Brands – 2019
  • Brian Niccol, CEO, Chipotle – 2020
  • Jose Cil, CEO, Restaurant Brands International – 2021

Click here to read more about Claudia’s background and Restaurant Leader of the Year award.